Chicken Thigh Butt Rub Marinade on the Plank!

Before you ask, no, I haven’t got the case of the word salad. The intro title is what it is!

Just yesterday, I decided that I was really craving for some chicken thigh. Normally, I’d whip up my usual chicken wings doused in prawn paste powder. I.e. below:IMG_2180

However, I was having a friend over who was allergic to seafood. So I decided to make something a little different for him using the Butt Rub bbq seasoning ( is an all-purpose seasoning with a balanced blend of onion, garlic, salt, pepper, paprika and chipotle ).IMG_2177

so first thing’s first. soak the wooden grilling planks in the water. i use Axtchlag regular sized cherry wood. I was a bit impatient with the soaking, so I only soaked for about 30 minutes. on hindsight, I think it would have definitely made my planks last longer if i’d soaked it for longer.IMG_2178

After marinading the chicken thighs, put them on the plank and then onto the grill. I must confess, i actually put the grill on medium-high heat the first time, all 3 burners on at the same time… and left it for about 15 minutes…

BAD IDEA! My chicken thigh burnt so bad and the wood pretty much disintegrated.

However! Let’s talk about my successful chicken instead.. haha.

IMG_2183
So in the second attempt, I put the heat on low to medium and only switched on 2 burners. I checked on it every 5 minutes to see when it the thighs would need flipping. (I flip them because you’ll notice that the underside doesn’t cook as efficiently as the top).

After about 10 minutes, the plank caught fire, so I shut off the burners for a bit and let the plank smoke on its own.

IMG_2190

After about 25 minutes of slow cooking on the grill, hood down. The chicken thighs turned out perfect. The right touch of smokiness and seasoning, but you could still taste the actual chicken flavour (which by the way, was super moist and tender and kept all its delicious juicies!)

I love these planks!!

To get the Axtchlag Wood Planks, you can find them at Libertypatio.com from $28.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Thigh Butt Rub Marinade on the Plank!

  1. jban says:

    Hi you have a great site, love grilling as well though I haven’t been up to as much. Can I know if you purchased your prawn paste powder (is it the same as belachan powder?) and also the butt rub seasoning?

    Thanks much

    • bbqlovers says:

      Hi Jban,

      Thanks, I’m glad you like the site!

      The prawn paste powder can be found at the thai super market in Golden Mile Complex. I’m not sure if they are the same? I’ve never tried belanchan powder, but if you were to compare the two tastes, I think it tastes different from belachan because the prawn paste powder has additional seasoning added to it I believe. I got the butt rub powder from the US, but you can order it online and send it via vpost: http://www.buttrub.com/shop/butt-rub-barbeque-seasoning.php

      If you can wait, the sea freight option is cheaper, and you can consolidate a bunch of different rubs and marinades from different companies in the US.

      If you haven’t already tried it, I like using Lawry’s seasoned salt too for my steaks. You can get this from Redmart: https://redmart.com/product/lawry's-seasoned-salt-16971
      Do be careful with the amount you put as it can get quite salty.

      Hope this helps!

  2. jban says:

    Apologies, meant to ask where you purchased your seasonings from if in Singapore

Leave a Reply

