BBQ Grill Planks: We be PLANKING!!!

Lately, I’ve been experimenting with Grilling Planks on my BBQ because I was sent some samples from Axtschlag BBQ wood company in Germany and I must say, it’s been pretty fun!

Grill Planks come in different types of flavours – the flavours that I got were Red Cedar Wood and Cherry. But I only tried out the Red Cedar wood this time.

Here’s how I used it:

Step One: Soak the plank for about 30 minutes in water. Most instructions will tell you about 60 minutes, but I felt 30 minutes in our humidity was enough. You can also soak it in juice if you like.

Soak the plank for about 30 minutes.

Step Two: Marinate the chicken wings. I used a Thai Prawn paste marinade which I got from Golden Mile Complex at Beach Road because it’s one of my favourite seasonings.

Them Chicken Wings!

Step Three: Remove the plank from the water and place it on top of the fired up grill. Place the chicken wings directly on the grilling plank. Close hood and let wings smoke on top of the plank. Check in every 5 minutes to see how the chicken is cooking and flip it over after 10 minutes. It should take about 25 minutes for the chicken to be fully cooked.

You can reuse the planks too!

Results: Thai Western Barbecued Wings! These wings were smoked directly on the planks which I feel, definitely gives it an advantage of just using wood chips in a smoker box. Plus, it’s a lot faster in achieving that smokey BBQ effect. It’s so easy to use and the results are just fantastic. It’s especially wonderful because the juices really get locked into the meat because of the indirect cooking, while avoiding burning the marinade. I also tried this with steak – unfortunately, it didn’t taste as good as the wings I have to say. I think steak still tastes best with it’s own flavour.

Axtschlag isn’t available in Singapore yet (shame! they have quite an extensive variety of other BBQ wood products which I will be reviewing over the next few weeks), but it will be in about 2 months time.

In the meantime, you can get cedar wood planks by Fire & Flavor from Liberty Patio. Enter “BBQLOVE” at checkout to get 15% off this product!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

