Rina’s Super Secret Burger Patty Recipe

I find it quite odd that whenever I say “I’m having a BBQ at home”, it’s usually followed by “What’s the occasion?”

The occasion? Well, I have meat in my fridge. That’s really all the excuse I need!

I mean, it’s like every time I eat, it’s a celebration. My mouth celebrates! My tummy celebrates! Yay for food!

Anyway, here’s what I made for dinner over the weekend:

Image

It’s Cousin Rina’s Super Secret, Super Easy, Beef Burger Patties. (Other sides on the plate include: Garlic Lamb Chops, Chicken Di Van, Roasted Bacon & Potatoes. Mom had a hand in putting together the corn. Pfft. The garlic bread’s from Breadtalk) But we’re not here to talk about all the other stuff. I’m here to talk about my cousin Rina’s secret patty recipe!

As you can see, I’m using the Liberty Sizzle Top electric grill which you can get from Liberty Patio. It drizzled a bit, so I figured I’d just transfer all the meat indoors. Great as a backup BBQ! At this point in the picture, you’ll notice that the patties are frozen.

Image

We like to freeze the patties because they stay in tact on the grill. When you make a fresh batch, they usually crumble easily.

Some might argue that you lose the moisture of the meat when you freeze it and then cook it immediately. But here’s where the secret ingredient comes in!

It’s…..

ONION SOUP MIX!

That’s right. I think for some reason, the soup mix soaks up the moisture as the burger defrosts on the grill, so it kinda locks in the juices.

I like using Lipton’s Onion Soup and Dip Mix, but I suppose you could use other mixes as well. It’s about one sachet for about 1.5kg of minced meat. Then I press them into patties, and put them in the freezer overnight or take them out whenever I feel like grilling a patty. When the patty’s cooked, you’ll find that it still keeps its perfect round shape, and it’s nicely seasoned and has onions too.

Image

You can see that it doesn’t lose much moisture (wetness on grill is cooking oil).

So there you have it, the secret burger patty recipe! Try it and let me know what you think!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

